Randomly selecting specific numbers

Hi everyone!

I'm new to processing and coding in general for that matter. I assume this will be a fairly straight forward question for you coding pros.

I have a piece of code with a variable for the x direction of an object. Each time I start the program I would like for that number to be randomly selected to be either 1 or -1, nothing in between. Any idea on how I would do this?

Thanks in advance!

Tagged:

Answers

• final int dir = random(1) > .5? 1 : -1;

• int result=0;

float randomNumber = random(100); 

if (randomNumber > 50) 
      result = 1;
    else 
    result = 0;

println (result); 

• edited December 2016 Answer ✓

@Infinitiive -- the example from @GoToLoop is what the Processing reference calls it the "conditional operator": https://processing.org/reference/conditional.html (in Java it is called the ternary operator).

It is written like this

result = test ? expression if true : expression if false

So GoToLoop's example says:

If a random number between 0-1 is greater than 0.5 then set dir=1; else dir = -1.

@Chrisir's example writes out the same logic longhand (although note he used 0, not -1):

If a random number between 0-100 is greater than 50 then set result = 1; else result = 0.

• @jeremydouglass you put in a lot of effort to properly explain answers. GoToLoop prefers to give straight, unexplained answers which are more useful to advanced/intermediate programmers.

• There are tradeoffs. If you answer briefly you can answer many questions instead of just a few -- and brief answers may also teach people to teach themselves. On the other hand, long / complete answers are often useful to both beginners and to future readers of the forum who have a similar problem -- that is, assuming that they find the old answer at all!

• I provided good code where gotoloop provided code unreadable for a beginner....

• I kind of didn't see you there, @Chrisir. Your answers are good too.