We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpPrograms › Need help with flipping cards in processing
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Need help with flipping cards in processing (Read 3319 times)
Need help with flipping cards in processing
Jun 8th, 2010, 6:55am

Hey,

I'm new to processing and trying to make a memory game.
Now, I did manage to do a lot, but can't manage to build a system that does the following:

1. you turn two cards
2a. if it's wrong --> the cards flips back again and you hear a sound that indicates your wrong
2b. if it's right --> the cards flips back again and you hear a sound that indicates your right.

The problem I'm having that you now can turn as much as you want without anything to happen. When you press a card, a sound will be heared. The idea of the game is to find the two matching sounds Help please!

Greetz,
John

Download my files with this link:
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/6538035/memory.zip
Re: Need help with flipping cards in processing
Reply #1 - Jun 8th, 2010, 10:44am

I hope I'm making myself clear with the problem. If not, tell me, I will try te explain it better.

John
Re: Need help with flipping cards (memory)
Reply #2 - Jun 9th, 2010, 11:45am

*bump* anyone?
Reply #3 - Jun 9th, 2010, 2:32pm

Well, when you flip and expose the first card you need to keep a record of that card: you can just create a single global variable of type 'Card' to hold this - let's call it 'firstCard'.  In mouseClicked assign the first card clicked to firstCard and when a second card is clicked just set firstCard = null; that way you can just test if it's null and always know when a first card is being drawn: