We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpPrograms › Changing Location Data
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Changing Location Data (Read 1478 times)
Changing Location Data
Apr 24th, 2010, 2:05pm

I'm working on something where I'm pulling information from a spread sheet. The idea of it is to have 2 states, one plotting information in linear fashion and on a click the state changes and all that information is then plotted onto a map. So the x and y location of the ellipse changes. I'm trying to get a transition effect from graph to map. I was wondering if anyone has any examples. I'm new with using classes and I'm having difficulty getting mine up and running. This is what I have so far for testing.

Code:
Transition t1 = new Transition (10,10,310,310);
PVector plot, mPlot;

void setup(){
size (400,400);
}
void draw (){
t1.update();
}

class Transition {
float x1,y1,x2,y2;
Transition (PVector plot, PVector mPlot){
plot = new PVector (x1,y1);
mPlot = new PVector (x2,y2);

}

void update () {
ellipse (plot.x1,plot.x2,5,5);
}
}
Re: Changing Location Data
Reply #1 - Apr 25th, 2010, 12:29am

Do you have an effect in mind that you would like to achieve. Its rather open ended the way you ask.  Monkeys could drop from the top of the window and use a steam roller or maybe you could use a nice cross fade.
Reply #2 - Apr 25th, 2010, 12:48am

Moving things all up in here mid post  Tongue I couldn't figure out why I couldn't reply there.