We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpElectronics,  Serial Library › Simulating a 7 Seg Display or a 16 x 2 LCD Display
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Simulating a 7 Seg Display or a 16 x 2 LCD Display (Read 1819 times)
Simulating a 7 Seg Display or a 16 x 2 LCD Display
Oct 28th, 2009, 4:29am

Hi,
I'm new to Arduino and Processing, but i'm diving straight in!
I was wondering, has anyone developed a library or a sketch that simulates a 7 seg display of 16 x 2 Char LCD Display?
I'm thinking that i can create a nice little GUI before i even develop any major hardware!
Your input or suggestions on where to start would be great!
Thanks

Pete
Re: Simulating a 7 Seg Display or a 16 x 2 LCD Display
Reply #1 - Nov 12th, 2009, 7:18am

Well you could just use the text command (look on the reference page) to print text to the screen. Look around for an 7-segment or LCD looking font, I'm sure someone has created something similar.

You could build some code to draw each segment of the character, and loop through each digit in a number. This wouldn't be too hard, but if you can find a font it would make things much simpler.
Reply #2 - Nov 12th, 2009, 7:36am

look for such a shape. like the 8 as svg file or do it yourself and save every element as single layer/shape and then use http://processing.org/learning/basics/getchild.html to color the active one white, the inactive one black...
Reply #3 - Nov 12th, 2009, 8:24am

I like the ideas mentioned here, but I just wanted to chime in to say that whenever I see a segmented display mimicked on a computer I think "what a waste of pixels!"