We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexDiscussionGeneral Discussion,  Status › Processing seems VERY slow in Snow Leopard
Pages: 1 2 3 
Processing seems VERY slow in Snow Leopard (Read 15420 times)
Processing seems VERY slow in Snow Leopard
Aug 31st, 2009, 11:46am

Howdy All,

I am relatively new to Processing - it's been working great and very interesting to learn.

I just installed the upgrade to Snow Leopard on my Intel-based Mac and Processing is now very, very slow. The visualization I had developed was very snappy, now it's almost click and wait.

Has anyone else encountered this? Any suggestions for solutions (I looked for other posts but did not see anything).

Thanks,

Fujo
Re: Processing seems VERY slow in Snow Leopard
Reply #1 - Sep 2nd, 2009, 8:42am

That shouldn't be the case... Is it consistent even with the example programs? Certain types of programs (e.g. certain renderers)?

Snow Leopard defaults to Apple's Java 1.6 implementation, which contains some differences from the 1.5 release we've been using as default, so there might be trouble. I'll try to install Snow Leopard sometime in the next few days and test it myself.
Reply #2 - Sep 3rd, 2009, 11:00am

I haven't noticed any slowdowns, but the video libraries don't seem to work, namely processing.video.MovieMaker and video.Capture.

I get an UnsatisfiedLinkError: quicktime.QTSession.Gestalt(I[I)S

Reply #3 - Sep 3rd, 2009, 11:20am

Yes, luke, apparently it was expected, see Test of MovieMaker video type (end of thread).
Reply #4 - Sep 3rd, 2009, 11:57am

First Post!  yahoo.