We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexDiscussionEvents,  Publications,  Opportunities › Question about presenting Processing at Conference
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Question about presenting Processing at Conference (Read 839 times)
Question about presenting Processing at Conference
Sep 24th, 2008, 6:21am

I am a middle school math teacher who has, as an experiment, begun integrating Processing into an advanced Algebra 1 course.  Aside from the obvious links to graphing and 'math stuff', I'm using Processing as a platform to
1) emphasize the similarities and differences between the way people think about numbers and algebra and the way computers do
2) get students thinking about logic and organized thought
3) teach computer literacy
4) integrate art and math
5) get students hooked

So far the course has been a huge success.  I have students who tell me that they go home and do two to three hours of math homework a night!

I am entertaining the idea of presenting my work with this class at a education technology conference.  I know the software itself falls under the GNU GPL, but is there a protocol, license, or manners manual  regarding presentation and/or  curriculum integration of Processing?  I don't want to step on any toes, so please let me know what's necessary to keep this kosher.  

Thanks, Processing Community, for all of the great work.

Jack
Re: Question about presenting Processing at Confer
Reply #1 - Sep 24th, 2008, 12:00pm