We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexSuggestions & BugsSoftware,  Documentation,  Website Suggestions › Easier code reuse in Processing
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Easier code reuse in Processing (Read 2771 times)
Easier code reuse in Processing
Jun 28th, 2008, 1:11pm

I discovered Processing some months ago, but at start, I only tweaked some existing code.
Then I started more ambitious stuff, and being a Java programmer, I found myself writing classes to encapsulate stuff, reuse code and ease animation.
I finally found that I can split a sketch in several files, Java or PDE kind. Or write a library, to package in a jar file.
The later is a bit heavy, particularly in the early stages of development, when the classes are not finalized.
The former is frustrating: if I write a generic class and want to use it in several sketches, I have to copy it in each and every project (sketch).
For example I made a class to draw a parametrized stylized heart, and I want to use in a static sketch (to show side by side various settings), to animated it (changing settings in real time), etc. Several different sketches, so I have to copy the Heart class in each.

I am aware that Processing aims at beginners, which don't need advanced features like namespace/packages and nightmares like classpath...
But beginners evolve and improve, and eventually need more flexibility and code reuse. It would be nice to support some optional simple form of library.