We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpPrograms › How to obtain the RGB values
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
How to obtain the RGB values (Read 660 times)
How to obtain the RGB values
May 23rd, 2008, 10:55am

Hello, I'm a student in a hight school of art, and I have started few month ago to learn to work with Processing.

So, in  the framework of my studies and to lead my own project I have realized a small program which read the value of a pixel according to the mouse X and Y position. The problem is that the values I get back are negatives numbers like
"-14212709" for example. I know what this value can represent and why it's negative BUT, I would like to get back the Red, the Green and the Blue values instead of these negatives numbers.

I don't know if it's possible but I hope so.
If someone had a part of the answer it would be a great help for me.

thanks for your attention.
Re: How to obtain the RGB values
Reply #1 - May 23rd, 2008, 11:49am

Hi, what you want to do is quite easy. Lets assume that the variable myColor contains the number.

For the individual components you can do:
int r = red(myColor);
int g = green(myColor);
int b = blue(myColor);

Or a more optimized way is:
int r = (myColor >> 16) & 255;
int g = (myColor >> 8) & 255;
int b = (myColor) & 255;

Reply #2 - May 23rd, 2008, 3:16pm

As memo said, although I am not sure that the second solution is more optimized. I prefer the clearer one, for sure...

The issue and solution are explained in the color page, the reason being that by default, colors are opaque, ie. have a 0xFF alpha value which is in the high bits of the word.