We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
which book? (Read 1273 times)
which book?
Feb 11th, 2008, 11:41pm

hi there,

i'm just getting started in Processing and was wondering whether anyone would recommend either the Processing Handbook ( j.maeda, c.reas, b.fry) or Processing Creative Code (i.greenberg). are they very different or is it much of a muchness? i've had trouble finding a copy of the Processing Handbook in the UK.

i'm looking for a comprehensive guide to Processing right from the basics. i'm a designer but have a fair amount of experience with Actionscript and i would like to learn Processing 'properly' rather than stumbling through as i have done with Flash. eventually i would like to work on physically interactive projects. i'll probably get Making Things Talk (t.igoe) to help me with this.

do my experience or aims suggest i should choose either of the books in prefernce over the other?

thanks for the advice,

david
Re: which book?
Reply #1 - Feb 12th, 2008, 5:16am

davidhunter wrote on Feb 11th, 2008, 11:41pm:
i'm just getting started in Processing and was wondering whether anyone would recommend either the Processing Handbook ( j.maeda, c.reas, b.fry) or Processing Creative Code (i.greenberg).

My impression is that the Reas/Fry book is a little more general, and looks at Processing from a slightly broader set of views. It seems slightly more, um, useful. If you want to move on to Making Things Talk, it seems like Reas/Fry might give you a better foundation. The addition of interviews with other artists and programmers is nice, too.