We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
webcam to midi (Read 1994 times)
webcam to midi
Oct 27th, 2007, 7:37pm

hi there!

I'm new to processing and have little to none prgamming experience. I'm learning a lot by looking at the examples on this site. I was pleased to see that my webcam was recognised by processing verry easily.  What i'm trying to achive - for the moment Wink - is manimpulating the image from my webcam and generate midi note events.

As a starting point i took the two mirror examples by Daniel Shiffman. I pieced them togehther, messed a bit with colors and resolution and added some extra's (i.e. mouseX and mouseY, and mouse click genrate some changes).

Code:

import processing.video.*;

// Size of each cell in the grid
int cellSize = 10;
// Number of columns and rows in our system
int cols, rows;
// Variable for capture device
Capture video;

void setup() {
size(640, 480, P3D);
frameRate(30);
cols = width / cellSize;
rows = height / cellSize;
colorMode(RGB, 255, 255, 255, 100);

// Uses the default video input, see the reference if this causes an error
video = new Capture(this, width, height, 12);

background(0);
}

void draw()
{
if(mousePressed) {
background(255);
}
else {
background(0);
}
if (video.available()) {
video.read();
video.loadPixels();
}
// Not bothering to clear background
// background(0);

// Begin loop for columns
for ( int i = 0; i < cols;i++) {
// Begin loop for rows
for ( int j = 0; j < rows;j++) {

// Where are we, pixel-wise?
int x = i*cellSize;
int y = j*cellSize;
int loc = (video.width - x - 1) + y*video.width; // Reversing x to mirror the image