We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 
faster Movie class (Read 33656 times)
Re: faster Movie class
Reply #30 - Jan 11th, 2008, 6:22pm

Hi,

First: you don't call methods there. YOu need to write: fm.stop() (not the brackets), otherwise you have a statement with the value of the method, but no effect.

Second: Java is garbage collected, so you are really not supposed to free things directly. Java will do this at periodic intervals. But you should really not rely on those things. I think you can force the GC to sweep _now_, but for that please dig into the java docs yourself, I am not a java coder by nature...i.e. I don't really like it as much, just sometimes find myself having to use it.
Reply #31 - Jan 29th, 2008, 3:20pm

how can I loop my movie continuesly? it shows only one time
Reply #32 - Jan 29th, 2008, 9:05pm

You _should_ be able to loop by saying movie.loop() (where movie is a FasterMovie instance). Looking at the code I se that the same should actually happen when you say movie.start(), so it looks like a bug. What system/processing version are you using? What kind of movie do you have? can you send me the movie so I can try it out? Did you try different movies?

Best

Daniel
Reply #33 - Jan 29th, 2008, 10:12pm

Hm... always after a while playing with fm.speed() there comes a:

Invalid memory access of location 88bae00a eip=98784664

It would be so nice if this could work more stable, or is it just a quicktime bug?
It would be also very nice to jump to a specific frame

greetings ascorbin
Reply #34 - Jan 29th, 2008, 10:15pm