We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexDiscussionExhibition › ecosystem with extended classes
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
ecosystem with extended classes (Read 1115 times)
ecosystem with extended classes
Dec 27th, 2005, 5:19pm

Merry Christmas!
I hope some of the following makes sense - I've not been programming long, and I'm totally self-taught, so I might be making some idiotic mistakes. Here goes...
I am trying to make an ecosystem with 5 or 6 different classes of organism. I've made this one, which works (more or less) with 3 different classes in it.

http://www.scanraid.com/speakingincolour/threeOrgIndex.html

So far so good.
I'm not happy with the way my code is structured at the moment as I think I may run into problems as the system grows. The basic problem is writing reuseable methods for all the classes.
All  classes use more or less the same methods, so to start with I structured the code something like this:

class Org{
 Org(){
   //bla bla
 }
 void birth(){
   //bla bla
 }
 void die(){
// bla bla
 }
 void hunt(){
 //bla bla
 }

//etc....then:

class Plant extends Org{
 int itsClass;
   Plant(){
     itsClass = 1;
     //bla bla
     }
 }

class Prey extends Org{
 int itsClass;
   Prey(){
     itsClass = 1;
     //bla bla
   }
 }

//etc....

}
//------------------------------------------------------------------------------
-

I gave each extended class a variable (int) so it knew whether it was a plant, prey etc. and called the same methods for all organisms. The problem with this was that I couldn't work out a way of putting together the name of an object as a variable value -  eg for the birth method I wrote something like