FAQ
Cover
This is the archive Discourse for the Processing (ALPHA) software.
Please visit the new Processing forum for current information.

Processing 1.0 _ALPHA_
   Discussion
   General Processing Discussion
(Moderators: fry, REAS)
   need career guidance: designer/programmer
« Previous topic | Next topic »

Pages: 1 
   Author  Topic: need career guidance: designer/programmer  (Read 455 times)
bernd

need career guidance: designer/programmer
« on: Apr 2nd, 2003, 10:19am »

Hi. I just joined. I would appreciate some advice regarding furthering my education as a designer/programmer.  
I am currently a self-taught Flash designer/developer after receiving a four-year degree in traditional graphic design 2002. My interest in programming in the context of visual art/communication has been growing over the years. While I have reached advanced levels in ActionScript, I still lack official training in programming and interaction design. I am currently employed as a Flash developer and am experiencing day to day web development activity. I am looking for ways to move forward, creatively, technically and professionally. I am now faced with various possibilities of moving forward:  

1. carrying on with self - study (e.g. playing with Processing and acquiring further skills e.g. JAVA)

2. applying at an MA Interaction Design course (e.g. Ivrea, MIT, Hyperwerk ...).  

If I go with option 1 (self-study), what are the technologies I should look at?  Remember I would like to be active in the 'creative' applications of programming.

In the case of option 2 (MA course), what are the benefits of such a course? I am aware of the cost of Ivrea. The problem is I am currently based in South Africa and am not sure what the chances of financing such a course would be overseas (graduated my degree with cum laude: chances for scholarships/bursaries?)

I know there are a lot of issues here, and I don't expect answers, only good advice. Thanks. Bernd

Martin