FAQ
Cover
This is the archive Discourse for the Processing (ALPHA) software.
Please visit the new Processing forum for current information.

Processing 1.0 _ALPHA_
   Discussion
   General Processing Discussion
(Moderators: fry, REAS)
   Wolframs New Kind of Science...
« Previous topic | Next topic »

Pages: 1 
   Author  Topic: Wolframs New Kind of Science...  (Read 640 times)
jand

g3rmorg WWW Email
Wolframs New Kind of Science...
« on: Mar 22nd, 2003, 9:10am »

I haven't seen this mentioned here, which surpises me; then again, I'm a noob so apologies if this has already been discussed...

It's pretty hard going in places; I don't come from an academic background but Alife/System theory has always been a main area of interest, so I didn't find it insurmoutable...

I'm about to have a re-read and this time through I think P5 will make a great companion...

So has anyone else read it or used any of the ideas therein with their P5 work...collabs?...
« Last Edit: Mar 22nd, 2003, 9:11am by jand »  
Martin

122417302122417302martingomez_listsmg1ph WWW Email
Re: Wolframs New Kind of Science...
« Reply #1 on: Mar 22nd, 2003, 11:28am »

a lot of it deals with complexity theory and cellular automata. there are quite a number of p5 pieces that show cellular automata. for instance, mike davis has a rather fantastic collection of these. glen murphy's fluid dynamics stuff is nice. the book doesn't really present anything new. people have been doing these stuff for quite some time now... even in the 70's (refer to conway's game of life). i quote from amazon.com: mega biblia mega kaka

hmm... a phd at 20 is still nice.

trivia: 1950s is considered the period when cellular automata emerged

at any rate, it's a good exercise
« Last Edit: Mar 22nd, 2003, 11:35am by Martin »  
benelek

35160983516098 WWW Email
« Reply #2 on: Mar 22nd, 2003, 4:44pm »

on Mar 22nd, 2003, 11:28am, Martin wrote:
trivia: 1950s is considered the period when cellular automata emerged