FAQ
Cover
This is the archive Discourse for the Processing (ALPHA) software.
Please visit the new Processing forum for current information.

Processing 1.0 _ALPHA_
   Programming Questions & Help
   Syntax
(Moderators: fry, REAS)
   Object naming and manipulation
« Previous topic | Next topic »

Pages: 1 
   Author  Topic: Object naming and manipulation  (Read 538 times)
spectre_240sx

Email
Object naming and manipulation
« on: Mar 27th, 2004, 3:49am »

I'm fairly new to object oriented programming, and I'm having trouble figuring out how to name groups of objects. Currently, in one of my programs, each object is being created as part of an array during the setup loop, but this has limited me as far as what I can do after they've all been created.

I can obviously still create new objects, but the question becomes how to name and refer to them. Up until now I have been just looping through the array that I set them up with. That's not going to work when I start having objects outside of that array...

I'd be extremely grateful if anyone could shed some light on this or point me towards some useful texts / books on the matter.

Thanks!

arielm

Re: Object naming and manipulation
« Reply #1 on: Mar 27th, 2004, 8:26am »

actually, using arrays to store references to multiple objects is the most used method and generally it works very well.

in addition, there's the java "Vector" class which is a growable array: it can be useful when you need to create new objects dynamically and you don't know in advance how many of them are needed (+ it's also possible to remove objects easily...)

on Mar 27th, 2004, 3:49am, spectre_240sx wrote:
I can obviously still create new objects, but the question becomes how to name and refer to them. Up until now I have been just looping through the array that I set them up with. That's not going to work when I start having objects outside of that array...

it's not clear why "that's not going to work"... can you give more details