FAQ
Cover
This is the archive Discourse for the Processing (ALPHA) software.
Please visit the new Processing forum for current information.

Processing 1.0 _ALPHA_
   Topics & Contributions
   Simulation, Artificial Life
(Moderator: REAS)
   particle magnet (help)
« Previous topic | Next topic »

Pages: 1 2 
   Author  Topic: particle magnet (help)  (Read 10072 times)
Charles Hinshaw

WWW Email
particle magnet (help)
« on: Apr 21st, 2004, 7:10pm »

Hello to everybody in Processing land.

I have a question -- it is more of a conceptual nature as to how you would go about doing something.

I want to make an object (of which there could be a random number of on the screen) that draws particles (say - again, a random number (albiet much larger than the number of magnets), randomly strewn about) towards it, until it is "full" somewhere between 50-75 pixels.

As I am not a programmer (I'm one of the "artists" that processing has sucked in) I was wondering how to think like a programmer on this problem.

Any insight would be great.

Thanks.

Charles Hinshaw
PHAERSE

http://www.phaerse.com
miked

Re: particle magnet (help)
« Reply #1 on: Apr 21st, 2004, 8:57pm »

Hi Charles,

This sounds like a physics problem to me (unfortunately, everything sounds like a physics problem to me these days)!

What you're describing could be modeled as a simulation of charged particles interacting.  For example, your "magnets" are objects with a large positive charge, and your "particles" are objects with a small negative charge.  The positively charged particle generates an electric field that attracts the negatively charged ones, in a process described by Coulomb's Law.