FAQ
Cover
This is the archive Discourse for the Processing (ALPHA) software.
Please visit the new Processing forum for current information.

Processing 1.0 _ALPHA_
   Topics & Contributions
   Simulation, Artificial Life
(Moderator: REAS)
   Balls connected by a spring, ideas?
« Previous topic | Next topic »

Pages: 1 
   Author  Topic: Balls connected by a spring, ideas?  (Read 741 times)
laytonhayes

laytonhayes
Balls connected by a spring, ideas?
« on: Apr 8th, 2004, 6:09am »

This is my first attempt at programming interactive visuals.  I am attempting to have 2 balls, a main and a satellite connected by a spring.  The satellite ball will follow the main ball via the spring, with a set resting distance between the two.  Only the main ball can be dragged or come to a clicked position

Here is my work so far:  http://www.egoproduktions.com/balls

Only the main ball moves, I have not found a way to accurately make the satellite follow.  Any help will be greatly appreciated.

arielm

Re: Balls connected by a spring, ideas?
« Reply #1 on: Apr 8th, 2004, 11:18am »

in addition of using simple Pythagoras maths, it should be a matter of applying "smooth motion" (i.e. no big jumps) to your "main" ball so that the "satellite" can follow it properly.

check the source of "Centipede" in this one for an exact solution to this problem:
http://processing.org/discourse/yabb/board_Contribution_Respons_ive_action_display_num_1079476301.html

Ariel Malka | www.chronotext.org
laytonhayes

laytonhayes
« Reply #2 on: Apr 9th, 2004, 2:19am »

Thanks for the link. I have both balls moving now, the spring draws a little later than the balls, will try to  fix that tonight.  Here is the updated link:

http://www.egoproduktions.com/balls2

I also still need to have the satelite follow with a more spring like motion.  Right now it always ends up in the same possition realative to the main ball.

skloopy

« Reply #3 on: Apr 9th, 2004, 11:19pm »