Idea: R Language Mode for Processing

Hi, processing :)

R is an open source programming language and software environment for statistical computing and graphics. It ranks 15th in TIOBE Index for February 2017.

Processing.py helps python users to get in touch with visual arts easily and spreads the concept of processing foundation. Processing.R is a good way to expand the user base for processing and reduce learning curve for R users. It is win-win.

I have implemented a prototype: github.com/gaocegege/Processing.R in Sep 2016. It is a demo for R mode, and GSoC is a good chance to make it usable and contribute to processing foundation.

Welcome for any suggestions and opinions and thanks for your browsing :)

About Me

I’m a freshman in a master’s program in Shanghai Jiao Tong University, my own research orientation is container-based OS virtualization (COS virtualization), so I have contributed to many container-based projects such as docker, kubernetes, runc and so on. I’m a heavy user of GitHub and know the workflow in GitHub.

GitHub: github.com/gaocegege

Comments

• How is Processing and R related in this concept? Would processing tap on R resources? Or you are defining a new way to access Processing parameters using R notation? In your vision, how would R users benefit when using processing and specifically processing.R? I think it will be great to do vector and matrix operations as processing is always full of for loops. Not sure how easy and feasible this concept is.

Kf

• Very interesting and exciting prototype!

Processing.py is based on Jython -- are you using something similar for R/Java transpiling, or would this take a different approach?

• re @kfrajer

Just like processing.py, this prototype uses a JVM-based R interpreter and have some pre-defined functions such as draw(), line(), background() and so on.