Creating a "looking-glass" (an ellipse which "sees" the image underneath it)

edited October 2016 in Questions about Code

Hello Processing community,

I am a little new with this whole thing, so bear with me:

Basically, for a project of mine, I wish to create a looking glass. During the scenes in this project (its an interactive story of sorts) two gifs will be running simutaneously, one on top of the other. The gifs are run using the GifAnimation library. The idea is that the user can move the looking glass over some area of the gif on top, and, in the area of the looking glass, the user will be able to see the gif underneath; within the area of the looking glass, the gif on top becomes transparent. The two gifs will be fairly similar, however the hidden one will have small, subtle changes that reveal additional information about the story.

What I have so far:

Firstly, the LookingGlass class which is called by draw() is defined like so. lg is defined as a global variable, LookingGlass lg in the main file.

`class LookingGlass {
  float radius = 50;

// This is a method which determines which pixels on the screen are inside of the looking glass, and which ones are not.
  void makeTransparent() {
    verticies[0] = new Vect2(mouseX-(lg.radius)/2, mouseY);
    verticies[1] = new Vect2(mouseX-(lg.radius)/3, mouseY-(lg.radius)/3);
    verticies[2] = new Vect2(mouseX, mouseY-(lg.radius)/2);
    verticies[3] = new Vect2(mouseX+(lg.radius)/3, mouseY-(lg.radius)/3);
    verticies[4] = new Vect2(mouseX+(lg.radius)/2, mouseY);
    verticies[5] = new Vect2(mouseX+(lg.radius)/3, mouseY+(lg.radius)/3);
    verticies[6] = new Vect2(mouseX, mouseY+(lg.radius)/2);
    verticies[7] = new Vect2(mouseX-(lg.radius)/3, mouseY+(lg.radius)/3);

// I have put various things here which have all failed, as described below

}
  }

// Displays the looking glass, and has it gain transparency
  void display() {
    fill(255, 20);
    ellipse(mouseX, mouseY, radius, radius);
  }
}`