Exit sketch but preserve parent process

edited November 2015 in How To...

Hi, Im new to processing and I have just got started using it with java. At the minute I have a java swing application which spawns a separate sketch window using PApplet.runSketch(). When the window is closed either by pressing escape, pressing the X or calling .exit() on the PApplet, the entire program including the swing main program closes with it.

Is there a way I can make it so when sketch is closed it does not kill off my entire program and just closes the sketch window?

Thanks.

Answers

• Dunno how to tame exit() yet. My workaround is simply use noLoop() and setVisible(false) on target PApplet. A Processing 2 example below. Easy to convert to Processing 3 though:

https://forum.processing.org/two/discussion/comment/43044/#Comment_43044

• There is no such setVisible() method in PApplet or PApplet.frame, digging through the source the frame variable is just a dummy, according to the comments. I tried both anyway.

It looks like PApplet isn't part of awt.Frame anymore or something, so the methods used to manipulate frames isn't there...

• edited November 2015

There is no such setVisible() method in PApplet or PApplet.frame.

... digging through the source the frame variable is just a dummy, ...

It looks like PApplet isn't part of awt.Frame anymore or something,

• That's Processing 3's main "feature" btW! >:)
    • Actually it extended class Applet; thus its name.
    • Class name was kept although it's senseless now! 8-}
  • I assume that you are using Processing 3. If not you can stop reading. ;)

Is there a way I can make it so when sketch is closed it does not kill off my entire program and just closes the sketch window?

There are 2 solutions, the hard one or the not so hard one.

IMPORTANT: In both cases you may get errors when closing additional windows on Linux systems.