Why does it seem the noise() method is negatively biased?

edited November 2017 in Questions about Code

I just started reading Daniel Shiffman's Nature of code and going through his videos. I started playing with the Perlin noise method and it seems if you map it to -1,1 it has a distinct negative bias.

Below is the Random Walker code from the book altered to use Perlin noise for the movements. No matter how I fiddle with the time, it seems the walker always heads to the top left, i.e, it generally moves -x and -y. Is there some bug in this code or does the noise method have some sort of bias?

// Daniel Shiffman
// The Nature of Code
// http://www.shiffman.net/

Walker w;

void setup() {
  size(600,600);
  // Create a walker object
  w = new Walker();
  background(255);
}

void draw() {
  // Run the walker object
  w.step();
  w.render();
}
// A random walker object!
class Walker {
  float x,y,time,timeInc;

Walker() {
    x = width/2;
    y = height/2;
    time = 0;
    timeInc = 20;

}

void render() {
    stroke(0);
    point(x,y);
  }

// Randomly move to any neighboring pixel (or stay in the same spot)
  void step() {
    float stepX = noise(time);
//    stepX = stepX * 2 -1;
    stepX = map(stepX,0,1,-1,1);    
    time+=timeInc;
    float stepY = noise(time);
//    stepY =stepY *2 -1;
    stepY = map(stepY,0,1,-1,1);
    time+=timeInc;
    x += stepX;
    y += stepY;
    x = constrain(x,0,width-1);
    y = constrain(y,0,height-1);
  }
}

I'm thinking there's something I'm not seeing in the code because this short test shows no bias:

void setup(){
     for(int i = 0;i <20;i++){
          float x = (float)noise(i);
          x = map(x,0,1,-1,1);
          println(x);
     }
}

Answers

• you are using steps of 20 in noise()? i thought it was meant to be tiny values.

the reference:

"Steps of 0.005-0.03 work best for most applications, but this will differ depending on use."