enableScene() does not exiest...??

edited March 2016 in Kinect

Hi

I am totally new to Processing. I am using SimpleOpenNI library to get the silhouette from the kinect camera. I am using kinect 1.8 SDK. Kinect Camera is already connected.

I taking reference from this link : http://www.creativeapplications.net/processing/kinect-physics-tutorial-for-processing/

But still it gives me the error as "the function enableScene() does not exist." Any help will be appreciated.

Thank You.

Answers

• Hi, Use enableUser() method, instead of enableScene() method.

• Hi Archana11,

Thanks alot for your quick reply. It solves my error but it has generated another error "sceneImage() does not exist"

Any Idea???

Thank You

• edited December 2014

for that, you must make enabled depth or rgb frame in setup() function.

void setup(){
             size(640,480);
            kinect=new SimpleOpenNI(this);
            kinect.enableDepth();
            kinect.enableUser();
            }

and use kinect.depthImage() instead

• Hey thanks alot Archana11 its starts working.. thnaks alot.

• Hi all,

I know this thread is kinda old but could somebody please be so kind to help me out with this also. I'm following the same tutorial as the OP, but even with the hints above I can't figure it out.

Archana11 says to use kinect.depthImage() instead. But instead of what? All I get is a "Cannot find anything named "kinect" error. Maybe somebody can be so kind to put the working script up? It's really frustrating. After doing Processing tutorials for over a year I can move some circles over the screen but this leaves me clueless...

Thanks so much!

• Since setup is assigning a new SimpleOpenNI objct to the kinect variable, one could assume that the kinect variable is defined globally as a SimpleOpenNI object... Following the link in the original post, there's a tutorial, and the first block of code is a sample that uses a SimpleOpenNI object too...

So... try this?

import SimpleOpenNI.*;