Counting the files in a folder

edited June 2015 in How To...

I am not very good at managing data.

I am saving some coordinates, that i need to load in a number of .txt files, in my sketch's Data folder, it looks a little like this:

countThese

How many .txt folders there are in different each folder is not fixed, the one on the image has only 2 files i that shall be loaded, but some other has 3, 4 or 5. (and possiply some will have even more, but what i know for sure is that none will have only one)

To load all the files, i must know how many files there are. As you can see, my solution was to add a file named »steps.txt« containing only one int: the number of files to be loaded. In the case shown on the picture, 2:

int numberOfFiles = int(loadStrings("data/folderName/steps")[0]);

But, it would be much easier, if there was a way to count the number of files in a folder, something like:

int numberOfFiles = getFileCount("data/folderName");

And i am also very sure that there is a way to do that (a library or something like that), i just don't know how.

Answers

• edited November 2014 Answer ✓

You're gonna need a FilenameFilter instance used as argument for File's list() method:

You can check out an example of it in this post link:
    http://forum.processing.org/two/discussion/6677/splitting-a-text-file-using-crlf-and-parsing-file-

Here's a custom FilenameFilter that would work for ya:

import java.io.FilenameFilter;

static final FilenameFilter FILTER = new FilenameFilter() {
      static final String NAME = "step", EXT = ".txt";

@ Override boolean accept(File path, String name) {
        return name.startsWith(NAME) && name.endsWith(EXT);
      }
    };

And a sample on how to use File's list() method:

File f = dataFile("folderName");
    String[] names = f.list(FILTER);
    printArray(names);

• Answer ✓

ah, and then just names.length ?

• Thanks, now it works.