How to port shaders from shaderfog, shadertoy to Processing?

edited April 2018 in GLSL / Shaders

As a very confused opengl beginner complete beginner who is struggling to get started I have a few questions.

1. Is it possible to use GLSL directly in processing or do you need to port to PShader?

2. Is there any tutorial for how to port shaders to PShader or use publicly available shaders? I want to start learning opengl shaders, but I don't know where to start since it seems like everywhere I can find examples, the language or implementation is different from what processing uses.

2.5 How do I take a shader for shadertoy and play around with it in processing?

1. Is there anybody making easy to follow tutorials like Dan Shiffman does for shaders?

2. How universal are shaders? For example, if I learn how to do shaders in processing can I take those and use them with openframeworks for example?

Tagged:

Answers

• If you browse the forum for shaders, you can find many attempts of people trying to get shaders working, either basic ones or complex ones. Trying to implement shaders is counter to the Processing concept aka. making things easier.

Other tags to search in the forum: post by the user nabr, as he has been and active member embracing shader technology.

If you google codeanticode, he also has some web resources and some intro material, similar to what you find in the Processing website under tutorials: Shader chapter.

Exporting shader from opemframeworks or shader toys: not sure if that is easy. My understanding reading from different prev posts, you need to understand how Processing does its magic with OpenGL. Then if you integrate your shader, you will need to use terms as defined in Processing. Take this with a grain of salt as I do not have much experience. You can explore the Processing source code to see how Processing works and, after taking a guide tour in openframeworks, you can see better if such exporting/importing codes would work.