General program practices for an "effects gallery"

I currently have a sketch that reproduces what's drawn on the screen and displays it on a LED matrix.

My idea for this sketch is to draw a layered gallery of effects (simple realtime Processing made animations), but I'm not sure of how to store these effects (each one being a little portion of code).

I need to:

• Store collection of effects sequences
  • Each collection stores a sequence of layered animations ("layered animations" means up to 4 animations running on top of each other
  • Each animation has variables that can be modified by the user (as speed, hue, etc.)

I know that the animations can be stored as functions and called when necessary, ordered by "layer". And maybe each collection can be also a function that calls the needed animations.

What structure do you recommend? I'm fairly new in Processing and Java, so I don't know the best practices for this scenario. Maybe storing the animations on a separate file and importing it? (to mantain a cleaner code)

Answers

• First things first: Don't bother too much about using multiple files. Processing treats different .pde files as if they were all one large file anyway, so as long as you can manage to keep everything organized in one file, that's fine.

Next, each animation is going to need, at the very least, a function. There is just no getting around this, because each animation needs to be able to do some drawing, and thus it needs to run some drawing code, and thus is needs to be in a function that draw() can call. Each animation may have other things it needs - global variables, user inputted values, data loaded from other files, etc - but let's not worry about those yet. Instead, let's write you a few animation functions now, just as place holders:

// One Liners
    color rcolor(){return(color(random(255),random(255),random(255)) );}

// Animation Functions - each draws a frame for a given animation.
    void ani_checkerBoard(){