PC app stores

edited December 2017 in Share Your Work

I'm a novice with Processing - an artist trying to dabble in coding art related app. I've built an app and want to submit to app stores that allow apps for PC (not android or mobile apps). Are there any app stores where I can submit/publish my app, other than Amazon?

Tagged:

Comments

• My submission at Amazon failed as it said the installer does not launch when downloaded. I've embedded java when exporting the application. So, there is a java folder in the applications.windows32 folder. That java folder is the installer, right? If so, why has the submission failed due to installer not launching?

• I don't have experience with his kind of publishing. My two cents: you will need to check their documentation on their site and see their requirements.

Kf

• Amazon documentation mentioned uploading a binary, that is, a .zip file containing an executable for pc and mac apps. So I clicked export application in the the .pde, and ticked embed Java (as I read in this forum that Java was the installer) and compressed the resultant folder (applications.windows32) into a .zip and uploaded. The zip folder had a .exe file. What have I done wrong? Is Java not the installer? Feeling stuck here. Pl help.

• Sorry, the installer executable file is the .exe which is in the zip folder. Java folder is also included in the zip folder. So, why does it say installer not launches when downloaded. Should I also include Processing as most computers need to have that IDE for the app to function?

• I am not used to exporting my code... I would assume that when you export, you can move that folder into any machine (with the same OS) and run it. Those target machines don't need to have Processing install. I wonder about java (even any java conflict if present in the target machine but different to the one that comes in the deployment folder.... anyways this is for another question). I will let other ppl clarify that part.