let images rotate like on a turntable

edited September 2017 in How To...

Hi everybody... I am a processing noob but somewhat experienced in coding in Actionscript 2.0.. You name it.. last coding was some time ago. Anyways, right now I am looking for a solution for an arts-project and I think processing is the way to go but I got stuck here and there. What I'm trying to archieve is to let images rotate around a pivot outside the background. Imagine it as a turntable with images lying on it. The images should appear each time they are transferred inside a folder. So to trigger that I found a workaround. My problem is the animation part. Coming from flash my thinking goes like this: Animate a Movieclip that rotates at a given speed and position. Load images into that container and let them rotate with it.

It would be even cooler to do that in 3D and position the images at a certain depth as well, so it looks more like a vortex of images seen from above.

Any ideas on how to archieve this with smooth output for up to 200 images? I am thankful for every help.

Tagged:

Answers

• @elkallemajor -- re:

What I'm trying to achieve is to let images rotate around a pivot outside the background.

Review the 2D Transformations tutorial -- it specifically discusses pivoting at the corner of the background or beyond (even on accident)

One approach:

1. Use translate() to move your turntable pivot point from the upper left corner of the screen to somewhere offscreen
    2. add a single rotate step for interactively moving the turntable
    3. inside a for() loop, place a rotate() for drawing each step around the edges of the turntable
    4. at each rotate step in the loop, either do drawing at a given distance with x/y arguments or push/pop a translate(r,0) and draw at 0,0.