Moving Pixels/Changing Color Over Time

Hi,

I'm new to Processing and to programming, so forgive me if this is an annoyingly rudimentary question. I would like to cluster pixels in certain areas of the window and move the cluster, while colors are changing gradually. Trying to get an ambient-like effect. I know putting them in an array would be the most practical. What I have so far:

size(500,500);

loadPixels(); for(int x = 0; x < width; x++){ for(int y = 0; y < height; y++){ pixels[x+y*width] = color(0,y/2,x/2); } } updatePixels();

Tagged:

Answers

• I'm using Processing 3, and I'm on OSX Yosemite.

• Well, to start off, you'd want the initial x and y values to be variable so you can move them around. So -> for (int x = offsetX; x < 30; x++) {...} where offsetX is the size of the cluster you're affecting. Of course, if you want to be doing circular clusters, you'd need a slightly different approach, but you get the idea.

Any other questions? I'm more than happy to help. Glad you decided to pick up programming :) it's a world of fun when you get into it.

• Thank you for your response!

I think I know what you're saying, but what do you mean when you say x and y should be variable? like, store them in an "int"? Could you possibly write out an example of how to implement what you're saying?

• I have this so far, and it's closer to what I'm trying to achieve. I have a cluster of green, but it's not animated.

size(500,500); background(0);

int offsetX = 10; int x; int y; loadPixels(); for(x = offsetX; x < 30; x++){ for(y = 0; y < height; y++){ pixels[x+y*width] = color(0,y/2,x/2); } } updatePixels();

• edited April 2017

Ok, I've narrowed it down to this:

size(500,500);
    background(0);

int x = 1;
    int y = 1;
    loadPixels();
    for(x = 100; x < 150; x++){
      for(y = 100; y < 150; y++){
        pixels[x+y*width] = color(1/x,y,y/2);
      }
    }
    updatePixels();

Now it's just animating the clusters to move. How would I go about doing that?