python server

edited February 2017 in General

I'm a noob which means I don't know anything... I got the python server working (yahay) but now when I am in localhost, I don't see my files in the browser..... You know the blue files in the browser that you click on? I don't have those and I don't know how to get them to show up. I've seen them before so I don't think I have to download anything or do a bunch of stuff. Maybe I'm missing a dot somewhere?

This must happen to others? It seems pretty straight forward, no files in the browser when I use python's localhost which means I can't open my files when I use the local host because I don't know how to get them into the browser- you know the blue files you see when you use the localhost- the ones you click on? How do you get those to show up?

Also someone told me I don't need to use the server. I can just use firefox and it doesn't matter. Is that true? I just switched from safari to chrome (so as to use the python server as it didn't work that well in safari), and so I would just like to know how to get my blue files in the browser when I am on the local server. Am I missing a dot somewhere? You know your blue files on your computer when you use the server. They don't show up when I use local host 8000. It worked once so I think it isn't too major.

Someone must have run into this problem and probably just put a dot somewhere and viola there are your files and now you can click on them, right?

Thanks,

Answers

• edited February 2017

I can just use Firefox and it doesn't matter. Is that true?

Totally, for any Firefox-based browser! <:-P
    However, we can also make Chrome-based browsers do almost the same. :-$
    Just follow these instructions: http://Chrome-allow-file-access-from-file.com
    Or at least when it's finally back online. :-\"

https://forum.Processing.org/two/discussions/tagged/--allow-file-access-from-files

• edited February 2017