mousePressed not working - simple code

edited November 2016 in Questions about Code

Hi! I'm new to both coding and the boards so please bear with me. I'm trying to make a simple code where circles, which are supposed to represent tear drops, fall and the person controlling the mouse cursor, which takes on the image of a bucket, clicks on the tears to make them disappear, to make the illusion of tears falling into the bucket.

I'm having trouble with the mousePressed command. I cannot seem to be able to make the falling circles disappear when clicked on. Does anyone have any suggestions to help get me on the right track?

Here is what I have:

Tear t1; PImage mouseCursor; int numDrops = 80; Tear[] drops = new Tear[numDrops]; // This creates the array of tears - how many will be able to fall. void setup() { size(1000,800); background(0); smooth(); noStroke(); // This loops the array of tears. for (int i = 0; i < drops.length; i++) { drops[i] = new Tear(); // This creates the tears as objects. t1 = new Tear(); } mouseCursor = loadImage("bucket.png"); // This loads the image of the bucket as the cursor. } void draw(){ fill(0,80); rect(0,0,1000,800); // This loops the array of tears. for (int i = 0; i < drops.length; i++) { drops[i].fall(); } if(mouseX < 1000) { // This command makes the cursor the bucket image at all times. cursor(mouseCursor, 0, 0); } else { cursor(HAND); } } class Tear { // This allows the tears to be able to fall randomly at random positions on the screen. float t = random(1000); float y = random(-height); void fall() { y = y + 10; fill(0,139,211,255); // The tears themselves. :'( ellipse(t, y, 10, 10); if(y>height){ t = random(1000); y = random(-200); } } void mousePressed(){ ;if (mouseX >= t && mouseX <= t + width && mouseY >= y && mouseY <= y+ height){ fill(0); } else { fill(0,139,211,255);}} }

Thanks!

Answers

• Please highlight the code properly.