Leap Motion Tremor Recognition?

Hey Community,

I'm a fairly new developer that has been working on stuff using Leap Motion for Processing https://github.com/voidplus/leap-motion-processing. I'm enjoying Processing thus far.

I came across this demo on YouTube

I need to build something like this but I have no idea where to start?! I cant even tell what language this app is built in and I cant find any documentation for it online....

If anybody could provide some pointers in the right direction it would be great! i'm going to continue to lurk the internet for more information....

Tagged:

Answers

• Looks doable. Just curious, what is the application?

How far did you get with the code? Did you manage to display the finger positions on the screen? I'm using a different package and I don't have access to the Leap I used for my own experiments so I'm not sure how much of a help I can be.

Looks like it just tracks the orientation of your hand and does some signal processing on that data. Getting the data and visualizing it shouldn't be a problem, but I have no clue how to do the FFT in Processing and find the highest amplitude...

There are some methods in the library to get the hand orientation so you could just grab that and store it in an array. Do you want the orientation of the hand itself, or the orientation of the fingers? If you want the latter, you'll need to do some linear fit as well.

• @colouredmirrorball

I want to use this to potentially track hand tremor for people with a physical disability. I haven't written any code as of yet but getting finger position with the Leap Processing is a pretty simple task: finger_position = finger.getPosition();

They also have all of these:

PVector hand_position    = hand.getPosition();
     PVector hand_stabilized  = hand.getStabilizedPosition();
     PVector hand_direction   = hand.getDirection();
     PVector hand_dynamics    = hand.getDynamics();
     float   hand_roll        = hand.getRoll();