Taking user input

Greetings!

I'm new to p5.js and I'm bringing some of my Processing sketches to p5.js as most modern browsers dropped the Applet support, but I'm having some trouble with this one, which is sort of a char to string operation:

var input;

function setup() {
  createCanvas(1000,600);
  background(100);
  input = "";
}

function draw() {
  print(input);
}

function keyPressed() {
  if ( key >= 'A' && key <= 'Z' || key >= 'a' && key <= 'z' ) {
  input+=char(key);
  if ( abs( int( input ) ) > 100 ) {
    input = input.substring(  0, input.length()-1 );
  }
} else if ( key == BACKSPACE && input.length() > 0 ) {
  input = input.substring(  0, input.length()-1 );
}
}

What my original sketch would do is to get each key pressed and translate it to a string, but when I print the string, all I get is 'undefined' instead of the character:

undefined p5.js:12486:7 undefinedundefined p5.js:12486:7 undefinedundefinedundefined p5.js:12486:7 undefinedundefinedundefinedundefined p5.js:12486:7 undefinedundefinedundefinedundefinedundefined p5.js:12486:7 (and so on)

So I'm not really sure what's going on, as the BACKSPACE key doesn't work as well, but I guess that's how p5.js handles the key input?

Answers

• All I can suggest is check the p5js reference for any differences in method output; and when in doubt check values being returned by built-in methods (oh - and don't use print() in draw()!):

var input = "";

function setup() {
      createCanvas(100,100);
    }

function draw() {

}

function keyPressed() {
        print(key);
        print(char(key));
        print(keyCode);
        print(char(keyCode));      
    } 

• edited April 2016

I followed your advice and got some insights looking at the references, thanks. I managed to re-do it in another fashion but still I have one issue. First, the code:

var inputString;
    var inputLen;

function setup() {
      createCanvas(100,100);
      inputString = "";
    }

function draw() {