G4P multiple windows "function doesn't exist"/ help me understand

edited March 2016 in Library Questions

Hi! I'm trying to understand theG4P library example for multiple windows. It looks awesome, but I can't figure out where I am supposed to write functions in order to be able to use them in additional windows - at the moment if I try to write a function the usual way, I can call it inside the normal draw() but if I try to call it in one of the new windows, it says "function X does not exist".

I also don't really understand the MyWinData class in the example. I suspect this is related to why I can't get my functions to work with the new windows, but I'm in over my head a little bit, and have reached the limits of my understanding without outside help! Any advice or pointers to relevant examples will be appreciated. I've read the tutorial on the G4P website but I still don't really understand, and it doesn't specifically address functions. I'm not a programmer - sorry if I'm missing something obvious. Thanks in advance.

Tagged:

Answers

• at the moment if I try to write a function the usual way, I can call it inside the normal draw() but if I try to call it in one of the new windows, it says "function X does not exist".

Can you post a simple short example of what doesn't work so I can see where you are getting stuck?

I also don't really understand the MyWinData class in the example.

The first thing to note is that although the extra windows created with G4P look exactly the same as the Processing sketch window they are not. They are created from the main sketch code and can access any of the methods and global variables in the main sketch code. If you have multiple extra windows they all share the methods and global variables in the main sketch code.