How to play video using mouse click for an interactive poster

Hello, I'm very new to Processing (and programming in general) so likely this will be very obvious to someone, I'm hoping! I have a background image imported that I created using Adobe Illustrator. I would like to show this background image, and use mouseClick and keyPress to load and play different interactive aspects of this poster. It's for a school assignment and doesn't need to be that complicated. So for example I have an area in the image that is a square made of green cubes. I would like to mouseClick anywhere within that box, and have it play a movie that displays the animated green cubes. I would like the movie to take up a small portion of the screen only, play once, and then disappear from the screen.

I have a small sketch that plays the movie once. I have another sketch that loads the background image successfully. i have two Processing textbooks and have searched through them extensively to no avail!

I'm looking for the simplest way to do this, that I can then repeat and build on for other aspects of the poster.

Thank you!

Answers

• Well you got almost everything already. :)

You can look at the buttons example that comes with processing (under GUI). Thats is kind of what you need to make a region clickable.

Try combining all this.

If you need more help post the code so people can see where you got stuck
    :)

• When I run this code I get an "unexpected token void" pointed at the 'void movie Event' within the mouseClicked function. I have tested the play movie sketch and the rectangle function and they work separately. I just have no idea exactly where to put the various parts of the play movie commands. Do all of them go in setup? Is one in set up an one in the actual mouseClicked command? I am still getting used to the syntax and general order / structure of coding. Thanks!

import processing.video.*; Movie m; //declares a movie object