How to open processing code in BlueJ IDE?

edited May 2016 in How To...

I try to use the UML feature of BlueJ for my processing program, but BlueJ cannot open .pde file. What can I do to open my .pde processing files in BlueJ? Or is it possible to run processing code in other Java IDE?

Thanks,

Kenny

Tagged:

Answers

• edited October 2015 Answer ✓
    • ".pde" is exclusive to Processing's IDE (PDE).
    • For any other Java IDE, we gotta use ".java" extension files instead.
    • You'll have to configure those IDE's w/ Processing's class path though.
  • @GoToLoop, Thanks! However, I am a newbie in programming, is there a convenient way for you to show me how to "configure those IDE's w/ Processing's class path though"?

• Never used Processing in other IDEs.
    • AFAIK, the same similar procedures are used for setting up an IDE to work w/ Processing.
    • Instructions for Eclipse is the most abundant:
      http://StackOverflow.com/search?q=processing+&+eclipse
    • Sorry I can't be much of help in this matter.
  • edited October 2015 Answer ✓

The Processing pre-processor means that the code you see in the Processing IDE is not fully formed Java so won't run unaltered in another Java IDE.

I haven't tried this so I am not guaranteeing it will work but if you use the Export Application menu option and select Mac OSX (even if your OS is different) then in the window that is displayed, open the folder application.macosx in there you will see the source folder. Inside that you will see the .java files (ignore any pde files) copy these files into a BlueJ project and you should be able to use the UML tool.

Note that classes that form part of Processing e.g. PApplet or those from contributed libraries will not show u in class diagrams.

• @quark @GoToLoop Thanks a lot, I will give a try.

• and select Mac OSX (even if your OS is different)

It works the same way with Windows. On my system, the export for OSX option is even greyed out!

• edited October 2015