How to create an array grid with click functions?

edited August 2015 in Questions about Code

I'm new to processing and have starting working on smaller projects to get my skill and understanding up.

I'm wanting to create a grid where each square is clickable, however there are a few features that I'm not sure how to implement.

Firstly, when a square is clicked I want it to change to black, then the squares that surround the coloured square to change to yellow - kind of like edge detection.

Secondly, the first clicked square I want to establish as the starting point, meaning the next square I clicked wouldn't change to black unless it was vertically or horizontally connected to the black square (not diagonally.) Again if this meets the set rules the squares surrounding these two shapes would also turn yellow.

Finally this would continue, I could continue to click on squares that were adjacent to any of the clicked squares and they would turn black and light up the squares around them.

I currently have code that generates the grid and is clickable, but I am not sure where to go from here. Any help and feedback would be greatly appreciated.

int boxsize = 100;
int cols, rows;
color[][] colors;

void setup() {
  size(1300, 600);
  cols = width/boxsize;
  rows = height/boxsize;
  colors = new color[cols][rows];
  for (int i=0; i<cols; i++) {
    for (int j=0; j<rows; j++) {
      colors[i][j] = color(255);
    }
  }
}

void draw() {
  background(255);
      int x = i*boxsize;
      int y = j*boxsize;
      if (mouseX > x && mouseX < (x + boxsize) && mouseY > y && mouseY < (y + boxsize)) {
        if (mousePressed && (mouseButton == LEFT)) {
          colors[i][j] = color(0);
        }
      }
      fill(colors[i][j]);
      rect(x, y, boxsize, boxsize);
    }
  }
}

Answers

• Looking into this more, I can see how it is very similar to the game of life except the cells are initiated to an 'alive' state manually.

• int boxsize = 100;
    int cols, rows;