PShape Memory Leak - Garbage Collection Pauses

edited January 2017 in Questions about Code

It seems that PShapes don't get removed from the memory and instead build up causing long garbage collection / relocation times.

Below is an example of this. The pauses are garbage collections.

void setup () {
   size (200,400,P2D); 
}

void draw() {

PShape newCells;
     newCells = createShape();  
       newCells.beginShape(TRIANGLES);

for (int i = 0; i <  2000; i++) {
                newCells.vertex(random(0,width),random(0,height));
         }
       newCells.endShape();   

shape(newCells, 0,0);
 }

I have looked at the garbage collections in VisualVM and it builds up very quickly and moves memory to Old gen.

The same doesn't happen with immediate mode (no PShape)

My questions are:

1) Is this a bug?

2) Would changing GC options help, if so how do you set this up on mac, I am a total novice with Terminal

Edit: Just to clarify, it is clear this is not the way to use PShape, in the context immediate mode or PShape(Group) is appropriate. But my problem is I need to create the shapes in real time, with thousands of triangle each frames, and then repeat the geometry in a mandala (radial symmetry) form.

Answers

• I am bumping this ancient topic because I believe there is still a problem here. I have noticed the same behavior in 3.2.3 using PShapes; The shapes are created and memory usage goes up, all fine and good. Except that, when the sketch is closed, the memory is not freed, i.e the PShapes are not GC'd properly. Running the sketch again then produces an OOME, which is to be expected.

• @K2017 -- what is the test sketch you are using to reproduce this problem -- is it the exact sketch from the OP, above? How are you exiting the sketch?

If this is a reproducible way of creating an Out of Memory Error on re-running a Processing 3.2.3 sketch then you should check whether there is already an issue on the GitHub Processing Issues -- if not please open a new issue: