USB (com port list)

edited August 2015 in Arduino

Hi all,

I'm working on a project with arduino and lately i got interested in processing too looks as a nice interface programming software which I'd like to use, so let's get to the main question. I'm totally new to processing so take it easy with me :D I saw some tutorials how to connect arduino with processing thru com port but I need to set my exact arduino com port and sometimes the com port changed depending on what computer i sit.

****Question: ****

• Is there a way to get a drop menu with the available PC com ports and chose which one i need? It's not hard to change just a number in the code but i wanna make a drop down list with the available com ports so in this way i would not go and mess with the code every time picking ports.

Answers

• edited August 2015

This is how you find the list of COM ports, using Serial.list().

void getSerialPorts() {
      COMList.setItems(Serial.list(), 0);
      if (Serial.list().length == 1) {
        println("Only one COM port seen");
        myPort = new Serial(this, Serial.list()[0], baudRate);
        PortOpen = true;
        myPort.bufferUntil('\n');
      }
      println(Serial.list());
    }

Here if there is only one COM port I go ahead and open it as that will be the connected Arduino (hopefully).

To create the GUI with a drop down list to allow the COM port to be selected I use quark's G4P (Available here)

The COMList.setItems(...) instruction updates the list of available COMports in the drop list control.

In case the sketch is run before the Arduino is connected, you may need to add a 'Scan' button that calls the getSerialPorts() function again as the list won't update unless you do it, but check to make sure the port is not already open ...

public void Scan_click1(GButton source, GEvent event) { //_CODE_:Scanbutton:768853:
      println("Scanbutton - GButton event occured " + System.currentTimeMillis()%10000000 );
      if (PortOpen)