How do i save current coordinates and use them later?

edited May 2015 in Android Mode

Hi! I am very new to Processing and it's my first time making an app for android. I want to make an app which saves the coordinates of your current position via a button press using GPS (i have done the GPS part), then you walk somewhere else and press another button which saves those current position and opens the google maps app and applies the cooridinates from and to so you can navigate to your initial position.

My problem is i don't know how to save the current coorinates using a button and then, when you have moved, pressing another button which will open google maps and insert the cooridinates. I have made an app using AppInventor where the source looks like this: http://prntscr.com/6zwni3 although it's another thing programming it by hand. I appriciate any attemt to help me, thank you!

Answers

• Which part of this is giving you trouble? Storing coordinates in a variable? Detecting button presses? Opening google maps? Something else? Try to break your problem down into much smaller pieces, then tackle each small piece one at a time.

• edited April 2015

Fist of storing cooridinates and use them later. I'm guessing i have to use some sort of database? Second is opening google maps Third is putting the cooridinates into google maps

• Okay, so first: storing coordinates. How are you getting the coordinates? What type are they?

By that I mean, I can get the mouseX and mouseY position of the mouse. Their type is float. I can store them in a float variable like this:

float rememberedMouseX = mouseX;

You'd probably end up doing something similar with your coordinates.