Hello to Fellow GSOC Applicants & Processing Community

edited April 2015 in Summer of Code 2015

Hi All,

As many others here, I've submitted a proposal for GSOC this year and thought I'd just introduce myself to the community as well as introduce my proposal. My name is David, I'm a second year undergraduate student at the University of Bath, United Kingdom and I study Computer Science. I have large amounts of programming experience, and have explored a wide range of paradigms and concepts. Having developed for a variety of organisations and clients, I am aware of, and use, good development practices that ensure that the software I develop is robust, reliable and maintainable.

You can view my portfolio at: http://www.drawbycode.com which includes more information about myself, examples of the work I've done (both software & web development), as well as details about each project. I have experience with the following languages: Java, C#, Python, Prolog, Haskell, C, PHP and Javascript.

My proposal: https://www.google-melange.com/gsoc/proposal/public/google/gsoc2015/doovd/5629499534213120

In a nutshell, I would like to propose the creation of a new tool that will allow users to create user-interface components. It will allow a great range of flexibility in terms of design and interactive behaviour of the components, and provide a user-friendly interface itself that follows the principles of usability and maximizes productivity. The following is a mockup of the envisaged tool:

A task analysis of the tool can be split into 3 main stages:

• Selection: The user selects the type of component they want to create, e.g. a button or a checkbox or a radiobutton etc.
  • Configuration: The user configures the aesthetics of the component, and any animation properties. The mockup shows this stage
  • Completion: The user finalizes the creation and the tool generates the required code (including appropriate event handlers).