We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexDiscussionGeneral Discussion,  Status › Processing: bad habits in programming
Pages: 1 2 
Processing: bad habits in programming (Read 5254 times)
Processing: bad habits in programming
May 2nd, 2010, 5:38pm

Hi,

What is the best way to learn programming? To start learn how to programme in Processing or just jump into the deep water and learn Java? I've heard that learning Processing will teach me bad habits in programming. Is it true?

PS. I have very little knowledge about programming. I know basic things like arrays, variables, statements and so on but how to put all this things together is kind of black magic for me now.
Re: Processing: bad habits in programming
Reply #1 - May 2nd, 2010, 11:47pm

If you don't know Java, then you have bad habits already Wink

Processing can help you improve your programming skills without having to deal with IDE configuration issues, or to understand everything about Swing before having a simple window displayed on screen.

I think it's a great tool to learn programming, actually.
Reply #2 - May 3rd, 2010, 1:25am

antiplastik wrote on May 2nd, 2010, 11:47pm:
If you don't know Java, then you have bad habits already Wink

Quite a bold statement! Grin
A good Python programmer might do some errors when starting with Processing, but at least he will have a good base for OOP and general good programming practices...  Smiley

Quote:
I've heard that learning Processing will teach me bad habits in programming. Is it true

No.