We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpPrograms › Help with modifying older code
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Help with modifying older code (Read 835 times)
Help with modifying older code
Feb 10th, 2010, 1:49pm

I found some older code from Processing 0123 in 2006, and it doesn't work on 1.x because of syntax changes, but I don't know how to change it so it does work.

It's probably only a few things that actually need changing, but I'm not a programmer, so it's beyond me. Would anyone like to modify it for me? It's several files, so I can't post all the code, but I could email it to you if you want to work on it.
Re: Help with modifying older code
Reply #1 - Feb 10th, 2010, 4:43pm

THIS is what he's trying to get working in a current version of Processing, if anyone else wants a shot at it.

So far I've changed:
"gene.dna()" to "gene.dna" where ever it appears
"//import gaLibrary.*;" to "import ai_ga.*;"

Now it's having issues with kill() called on a Particle, and I know I should change that to
"void removeParticle( int index )"
or
"void removeParticle( Particle p )"
but I can't get that working, and it's making me crazy.  Cheesy
Anyone else want to give it a try
Reply #2 - Feb 12th, 2010, 1:03am

{ Also posted in Older Processing Versions thread }

I have had a look at Eye for an Eye, which is very nice.

I downloaded the code, and downloaded and installed the referenced libraries (Traer Physics and the Genetic Algorithm Library created by the sketch's author).