We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexDiscussionGeneral Discussion,  Status › Curious about Math...
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Curious about Math... (Read 2074 times)
Curious about Math...
Jul 30th, 2009, 1:17pm

First of all hello,

I am a beginner to Processing and even to coding. Well i started to code with processing, and i was enjoying it so much. i finished some PDFs, learned OOP programming and such. I am a designer myself, and i really would love Processing to be my medium tool. I've always wanted to create real-time visuals, installations and such. The problem is, when it comes to math i just can't do anything, and i do not understand why the Source Codes i download have that hard to understand calculations (at least to me). When it comes to creativity i cant do stuff because i know nothing about math and it's nature. But i am really willing to do something about code-art.

As you know i am in need of some suggestions, like should i take a Math course, or i don't even need it? Or is there something i do wrong i should know?

Oh, and those PVector Classes and such, vectors and physics are like out of my range, As a result what should i do to become a code artist?

Thank you for your time and suggestions.
Re: Curious about Math...
Reply #1 - Sep 4th, 2009, 4:14pm

I can't really give out some silver-bullet :/ math is a big part of programming...

It is one thing to draw something using a pen and paper and a completely different thing to make something build itself live using instructions.