We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpOther Libraries › Net Library: Server Object: "Data Receive" event
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Net Library: Server Object: "Data Receive" event? (Read 1425 times)
Net Library: Server Object: "Data Receive" event?
Jun 8th, 2009, 5:57pm

Hello!

FOREWORD

I am a beginner/mediate programmer (mainly functional programming, only barely using OOP) and I have never worked with inter process communication, nor TCP sockets before, neither am I familiar with the theoretical background of server/client principles in programming.

Hence my expectations and imaginations may be absurd, and the implementation of the Processing Net Library anyhow compliant to the general theoretical server/client model. Or otherwise, maybe there is indeed scope for improvements concerning the Net library. In the former case I would very much welcome advise on how to implement correctly, and in the latter case, a possible work around to achieve my objective.

PROJECT

In a current project, I run a PHP script in the CLI version in an endless loop. This script downloads webcam pictures and saves them to disk, and after each successful download, notifies Processing via stream_socket_client(), that a new picture is ready, in a very simple protocol. One protocol message shall consist of a basic command to determine the operation mode of my receiving functions plus some parameters like filepath, x and y position for feeding my receiving functions with arguments. I want to separate the command and argument(s) with tab delimiters, and the messages with newline.

PROBLEM