We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Large video performance (Read 1951 times)
Large video performance
May 24th, 2009, 2:52pm

Hi,

I am new to Processing and have questions regarding video playback.

I have tried both the default video library and JMCMovie and I am getting really poor performance.

Should Processing not be able to play 2400 x 600 video easily??  

All I am doing is playing the video.  I am not doing any kind of analysis.

I should tell you what I am trying to do.  I want to use Processing's simple network library to create a video wall with 4 computers.  The server would would be playing a video and on each frame it would write a message to the clients, and they would jump to the same frame.

So my two concerns are:

- Will Processing handle the 2400 x 600 video
- Will I be able to position the playhead in the clients accurately

Best,
Sammi

Best,
Sammi
Re: Large video performance
Reply #1 - May 26th, 2009, 11:24am

Anyone?

Should Processing not be able to play 2400 x 600 video easily??

Have you done it?

Best,
Sammi
Reply #2 - May 26th, 2009, 2:04pm

I have not. (I just don't have any videos that size)

How does your system handle drawing an image of that size?
Do you have similar trouble playing the video within Quicktime itself?

By the way, is the video created from another sketch? I may build one just to try...
Reply #3 - May 26th, 2009, 4:23pm

Hi,

thank you for your reply.  The video plays very well in every video player I have tested.  

Unfortunately the video is not created from a sketch. But you can download it from here if you want to try.: