We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpPrograms › Help with increasing speed & changing color SLOWLY
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Help with increasing speed & changing color SLOWLY (Read 2208 times)
Help with increasing speed & changing color SLOWLY
Apr 27th, 2009, 6:47pm

How do I change a variable slowly over time?  I am trying to change the color and the speed of random ellipses.   I'm very new at Processing so forgive my messy code.  Here's what I have so far:

int sphereCount = 50;
float [] sphereSize = new float [sphereCount];
float [] xPosition = new float [sphereCount];
float [] yPosition = new float [sphereCount];
float [] xSpeed = new float [sphereCount];
float [] ySpeed = new float [sphereCount];

// These variables are used to determine the color of the particles

int redValue = 255;
int blueValue = 255;
int greenValue = 255;

void setup(){

size(900,300);

for(int i=0; i<sphereCount; i++){
   sphereSize[i] = random(10,120);
   xPosition[i] = random(0,width);
   yPosition[i] = random(0, height);
   xSpeed [i] = random(-2,2);
   ySpeed [i] = random(-2,2);

}

}
void draw(){
background(0);

for(int i=0; i<sphereCount; i++){
 xPosition[i] += xSpeed[i];
 yPosition[i] += ySpeed[i];

if(xPosition[i]>width){
  xSpeed[i] *= -1;
}

if(xPosition[i]<0){
  xSpeed[i] *= -1;
}

if(yPosition[i]>height){
  ySpeed[i] *= -1;
}

if(yPosition[i]<0) {
  ySpeed[i] *= -1;
}

/* When the mouse button is pressed the particles increase in
speed and the color slowly changes red.  This represents heat being
applied to the gas and causing the particles to agitate at higher
velocities */

if (mousePressed == true) {