We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpPrograms › frameRate weirdness!
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
frameRate weirdness! (Read 1302 times)
frameRate weirdness!
Apr 15th, 2009, 6:07am

hi! im new to processing, and have run across a bit of a problem. im using processing to make a little game, but the framerate is acting reallly weirdly, skipping all over the place, really jittery. ive tried using println(frameRate) to check whats going on, and its basically telling me that its running between 59fps and 60fps when ive set it to 60, and 29 - 30 when ive set it to 30. i tried switching the display mode to opengl, but then i just get vertical blank problems.
my code is set up like this-
Code:

varible declarations,

void setup(){
size(640, 480)
frameRate()
image loads and variable assignment,
}

void draw(){
update game logic
draw stuff
}

a few void functions(){
}

does anyone have any ideas about what im doing wrong? is my code in the wrong place?
thanks - una.x

Re: frameRate weirdness!
Reply #1 - Apr 15th, 2009, 8:28am

A possible reason for such glitches is that you generate lot of objects: when the garbage collector kicks in to collect objects you no longer use, it might take some time to do its job.
That's a general problem in real time Java programs, we see this even in JavaFX demos... I don't know if Java has an incremental GC which could be used instead.
Reply #2 - Apr 15th, 2009, 8:36am

thanks for the reply, however i only have 3 objects on the stage at this point. any ideas?x
Reply #3 - Apr 15th, 2009, 8:53am