We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpPrograms › 3D oval or 3D lens help
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
3D oval or 3D lens help (Read 863 times)
3D oval or 3D lens help
Mar 30th, 2009, 8:14am

Hi Guys,

As part of my project in college, I need to have a 3D beam of light go through a lens and refract. I have the beam working fine. I have hit a hurdle with the 3D thin lens.
I am quite new to processing and from my research there is no built in primitive that will allow me to draw what I need.
Can Sphere() be adjusted to give me a compressed or flatened like shape that will look like a lens.

Any help here guys would be great.
Re: 3D oval or 3D lens help
Reply #1 - Mar 30th, 2009, 9:06am

I haven't tried yet the 3D side of Processing, but I guess you can indeed use sphere() (little s) with scaling.
Reply #2 - Mar 30th, 2009, 10:22am

A squashed sphere will indeed produce lens-like effects, but note that it's a different physical shape than sort of classic lens described by standard optics equations.

Remembering waaaaaay back to my college physics days, the lenses we learned about in that unit were modeled as solid geometry operations involving purely spherical surfaces; e.g. the intersection of two spheres to make a standard convex-convex lens, the disjunction of a couple of spheres with a cylinder to make a concave-concave lens, et cetera.