We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexProgramming Questions & HelpPrograms › Mondrian painting program- Problems with pixel[]
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Mondrian painting program- Problems with pixel[] (Read 1049 times)
Mondrian painting program- Problems with pixel[]
Mar 20th, 2009, 1:06am

I am working on a few processing programs for a art show.  Im very new to processing and have been researching code generated art for about 2 months now.

The project i am currently working on is called 'Future Artist'.  It will be a 'Piet Mondrian' random painting simulator.  The paintings will resemble his compositions in red, yellow, and blue.

for visual reference:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Mondrian_CompRYB.jpg

At the moment i have constructed a program that will create the horizontal and vertical black lines. these lines will continue to draw until they run off the canvas  size.  I have attempted to add some simple collision detection for the canvas sides; now I would like to add collision detection to the lines themselves. Ex: If a line being drawn intercepts another line, then that line will stop.  I have attempted  to check for this using the pixel[] array. if the increasing coordinate value's color is black then it will not draw, if this color is white, that means the space is empty and it may continue drawling.