We closed this forum 18 June 2010. It has served us well since 2005 as the ALPHA forum did before it from 2002 to 2005. New discussions are ongoing at the new URL http://forum.processing.org. You'll need to sign up and get a new user account. We're sorry about that inconvenience, but we think it's better in the long run. The content on this forum will remain online.
IndexDiscussionExhibition › My first sketch
Pages: 1 2 
My first sketch (Read 2494 times)
My first sketch
Dec 30th, 2008, 5:58pm

Hello world!

Here it is after 3 month I got the blue book and reading every day the famous processing blog sites and using this forum I manage to get my hello world sketch, check it out here:

http://homepage.ntlworld.com/ricardo.sanchez/processing/applet/

Hope you like it! and if you have any comments on the code PLEASE post it here, as the next step on this is making the orbs behave in 3 stages birth, survive and death.

I am very new to this language, they way it renders and how you have to build the stuff. Must keep the practice going.

One thing I want to say is this HELP me A LOT on my Actionscript code, specially the OOP side of programing, so for that thanks to Casey and Ben.

rS
Re: My first sketch
Reply #1 - Jan 1st, 2009, 9:33am

this is really peacefull and cool.  I'm looking through the opengl stuff now to see what i can learn from you...

thanks

nik
Reply #2 - Jan 2nd, 2009, 6:07pm

nice... i like the circles off the edges... that soft halo is nice.
Reply #3 - Jan 2nd, 2009, 6:26pm

Very nice, simple but pretty.
Just a suggestion, even thought it's better to give every orb an image reference in case you want to let each have a different one latter on, it's faster to take the img and make it a global variable, only having to load it once. Calling loadImage 500 is a bit costly Smiley
Reply #4 - Jan 2nd, 2009, 9:31pm

Hey, thanks for the comments very cool!

Blahblab, the opengl stuff i got it from this post: